National Commission for Women

  National Commission for Women (NCW) was established in January 1992 under the National Commission for Women Act, 1990. NCW is a statutory body of the Government of India, which is mandated to review the constitutional and legal safeguards for women; recommend remedial legislative measures; facilitate redressal of grievances and advise the Government on all … Read more

Three types of states

On the basis of the attitude of the state towards religion, three types of states can be conceived of: (a) Atheistic State: The state is anti-religion and hence, condemns all religions. (b) Theocratic State: The state is pro-religion and hence, declares one particular religion as the state religion, as for example, Nepal, Bangladesh, Burma, Sri … Read more

42nd Amendment Act of 1976

The 42nd Amendment Act of 1976 transferred five subjects to Concurrent List from State List, that is, (a) education, (b) forests, (c) weights and measures, (d) protection of wild animals and birds, and (e) administration of justice; constitution and organisation of all courts except the Supreme Court and the high courts.